Territory on show in 2017 resource and land awards

FINALIST: Curtin Springs is again a finalist in the Primary Producers NRM Award category.
FINALIST: Curtin Springs is again a finalist in the Primary Producers NRM Award category.

THE FINALISTS for the 2017 NT Natural Resource Management Awards and NT Landcare Awards have been announced.

Each year TNRM hosts a conference and awards ceremony that is the only event of its kind in the Northern Territory.

It brings together hundreds of people from all walks of life who are passionate about caring for the environment.

And every second year the celebrations are doubled as Territory Natural Resource Management also hosts the NT Landcare Awards.

Combined, both awards cover 13 categories to ensure all areas of work undertaken across the unique Territory land and sea scapes are recognised.

Territory Natural Resource Management CEO Karen May said that comments from the judging panel made it clear that choosing winners from the list of finalists will be a difficult task because of the high-quality of the work being done by all nominees.

"It was apparent by the high standard of nominations we received across the award categories that the Northern Territory is home to a thriving community of individual and group innovators and leaders across the field of sustainable natural resource management," Ms May said.

"The entries have truly impressed the independent panel of Judges with their passion and commitment to protecting our Territory's Natural Resources. We thank all nominations for their work."

This year's finalists have carried out work across several key areas of environmental management.

In the Best Collaboration in NRM Award category one of the finalists is the Red Centre Biodiversity Fund Steering Committee. The Fund was a 5-year $1.16M Commonwealth Government Caring for Country grant that is coordinated by the Parks and Wildlife Commission of the NT, with the aim of protecting and improving the biodiversity for Australia's Red Centre national landscape.

The project area was run over an area about 900,000ha consisting of multiple land tenures, including Aboriginal Land which made up almost 50 per cent of the project area.

The project had three key objectives of the project including; reducing the impact of large feral herbivores across the landscape; reducing the impact of damaging fires across the landscape; and reducing the impact of invasive plants in identified areas across the landscape.

The steering committee was made up of key partners including the Central Land Council, Territory NRM, Parks and Wildlife and the Department of Environment and Natural Resources.

One of the key highlights of the program was the removal of a significant number of feral horses and camels from the project area as well as the construction of strategic fencing to exclude feral animals. Rangers and Aboriginal ranger groups also benefited from the project through the delivery of accredited training in fire management and aerial incendiary. Curtin Springs in Central Australia is again a finalist in Primary Producers NRM Award category.

The station is a diversified pastoral and tourism business that provides a varied jigsaw of experiences for visitors year-round.

Located 100km east of Uluru and 360km south west of Alice Springs, Curtin Springs has been home to the Severin family since 1956.

Curtin Springs prides itself on balancing beef production while conserving the unique ecology of the region, offering the station as a million-acre wildlife corridor.

The Curtain Springs tourism enterprises enables visitors to connect with the spectacular landscape and is overseen by the Severin Family who also employs up to 24 fulltime staff.

For the Curtin Springs Paper product native grasses are harvested by hand and processed to create a beautiful and distinctive souvenir. Tours and workshops encourage visitors to see the diversity and intricacies of our sensitive and intact environment. Curtin Springs Paper is now being used to make handmade jewellery, with two collections launched.

Winners of the awards will be announced on November 22 at a Gala Dinner as part of the annual 2017 TNRM Conference. The 2017 conference program includes a mix of podium presentations, interactive workshops, displays, field trips and opportunities for delegates and event partners to meet and network.

Registrations for the conference to be held at the Darwin Convention Centre from November 21 to 23 are now open.

To register or find out more about the conference go to


Best Collaboration in NRM: Land for Wildlife - Top End; Waanyi-Garawa Rangers Northern Land Council in collaboration with Bush Heritage Australia; Red Centre Biodiversity Fund Steering Committee.

Primary Producer NRM Award: Curtin Springs; Humpty Doo Barramundi.

Individual NRM Award: Jimmy Morrison, Waanyi-Garawa and Garawa Rangers Northern Land Council; David Liddle, Top End Native Plants Society; Steve Roeger, Dhimurru Aboriginal Corporation.

Research in NRM Award: Darwin Aquaculture Centre; Kenbi Rangers Northern Land Council in collaboration with the University of Melbourne; Rohan Fisher, Research Institute of Environment and Livliehoods, Charles Darwin University.

Indigenous NRM Group Award; Tjuwanpa Women Rangers; Jawoyn Association; Muru-Warinyi Ankkul Rangers Central Land Council.

NT Ranger Award: John Moreen, Kenbi Rangers Northern Land Council; Carl O'Cleary, Muru-Warinyi Ankkul Rangers Central Land Council; Alan Withers, Parks and Wildlife Commission of the NT.


Australian Government Partnerships for Landcare Award; Land for Wildlife - Top End; Berry Springs Primary School; Red Centre Biodiversity Fund Steering Committee.

Australian Government Excellence in Sustainable Farm Practices Award; Barkly Landcare Conservation Association; Mountain Valley Station; Curtin Springs.

Australian Government Innovation in Agriculture Land Management Award; NT Farmers, Territory Natural Resource Management and the Department of Primary Industry and Resources, Northern Territory Government; Precision Pastoral.

Fairfax Landcare Community Group Award; Land for Wildlife / Garden for Wildlife - Central Australia; Victoria River District Conservation Association; Roper River Landcare Group.

Junior Landcare Team Award; Learning on Country Steering Committee; Berry Springs Primary School.

Rio Tinto Indigenous Land Management Award; Josephine Grant, Central Land Council; Dhimurru Aboriginal Corporation; Tjuwanpa Women Rangers.

Austcover Young Landcare Leader Award; Jacob Betros, Territory Natural Resource Management; Steven Dawson, Larrakia Rangers - Larrakia Nation Aboriginal Corporation; Naomi Cassilles-Southgate, Department of Environment and Natural Resources, Northern Territory Government.

Topics:  natural resource management northern territory nt awards

Stay Connected

Update your news preferences and get the latest news delivered to your inbox.