VIDEO: School plant science awards enlightens students

Warwick East State School students Henry Sun, Eli Palmer, Jada Wright and Emily Mauch show off their awards in agriculture. Photo Sophie Lester / Warwick Daily News
Warwick East State School students Henry Sun, Eli Palmer, Jada Wright and Emily Mauch show off their awards in agriculture. Photo Sophie Lester / Warwick Daily News Sophie Lester

School students from around Australia have been recognised for their efforts at the Hermitage Research Facility Schools Plant Science Competition awards ceremony held in Warwick.

Department of Agriculture and Fisheries competition organiser Kerrie Rubie said this year's competition was all about having fun with photosynthesis with a theme of 'No light…no life!'

"The plant science competition aims to stimulate an interest in science and agriculture in young people," Ms Rubie said.

"Now in its nineteenth year, the competition has helped thousands of students across Australia to gain a better understanding of agriculture and crop science."

Ms Rubie said students participating in this year's competition learned important lessons about photosynthesis by growing and performing experiments on various crop and vegetable plants.

"Students could see for themselves how plants defy gravity in their search for light and react to different light wavelengths," she said.

"This year's theme also helped students understand that everything we eat comes from plants and that, with no light, there's no life.

"There were 241 schools involved from Queensland, New South Wales, Victoria, Tasmania, South Australia, Western Australia and the Northern Territory registered for this year's competition, with over 300 entries received.

"The Art in AgRiculTure Awards section of the competition was popular amongst budding young artists, with hundreds of creative 3D plant models, drawings and photographs depicting photosynthesis in action submitted."

Department of Agriculture and Fisheries Executive Director for Agri-Science John Chapman was present at the awards day today to personally congratulate this year's participants and winners, while the Minister for Agriculture and Fisheries Bill Byrne also sent his congratulations to all participants.

Major prizes were won by: Glasshouse Christian College, Faith Christian School of Distance Education, Oakey State High School, Dalby State High School, Calvary Christian College, Mt Gravatt State High School, St Margaret's Anglican Girls School, Windaroo Valley State High School, Chancellor State College, Pattemore Homeschool, Middle Park State School, Millchester State School, Ambrose Treacy College, Pilton State School, Ferny Grove State School, Warwick East State School, Groves Christian College Distance Education, St Joseph's Primary School and Townsville South State School.

Prizes included scholarships, gift vouchers, trophies, medallions, digital microscopes, gardening packs, DVDs, books and certificates.

The 2015 competition was proudly sponsored by:

  • The Department of Agriculture and Fisheries
  • ARC Centre of Excellence for Translational Photosynthesis
  • Grains Research & Development Corporation (GRDC)
  • Paul Johnston Memorial Trust
  • The University of Queensland
  • Education Queensland
  • Pioneer Seeds
  • Warwick Art Gallery
  • Grains Research Foundation Ltd
  • Emerald Agricultural College and Longreach Pastoral College (QATC)
  • Susan Cruickshank Tutoring
  • Ag Institute of Australia
  • Blue Ribbon Seed and Pulse Exporters
  • NuSeed
  • The Crawford Fund
  • Selected Seeds
  • Professor and Mrs Joe Baker
  • John and Chris Purdie
  • Terranova Seeds

For full competition winner details, contact us on 13 25 23 or visit

Topics:  awards farmers hermitage research station rural science scientists

Stay Connected

Update your news preferences and get the latest news delivered to your inbox.