Blues go nuts to grab first win since ’09

NEW South Wales has emerged victorious in the annual Australian Macadamia Society competition based around production and quality of macadamias produced on opposite sides of the Queensland/New South Wales border.

AMS Industry development officer Robbie Commens announced NSW as the winning state for the first time since 2009.

Points are allocated for production and quality.

Overall, the Blues prevailed.

However, those from the maroon side of the border were far from disgraced, with some strong results submitted.

Six Queensland nominees were recognised for their contributions to team points:

Small Farms: F and L McGovern, Gympie; J and E Brugman, Peachester; Boyle family, Glasshouse Mts.

Large Farms: P and D Ryan, Gympie; Chivers family, Bundaberg; W and E Reiter, Gympie.

In addition to the State of Origin awards for growers, the industry's most prestigious practical award for a contribution to the industry was made to Shane Mulo, who is part of the DEEDI Macman team, based at the Maroochy research station, Nambour.

Mr Mulo received the Norm Greber Award in recognition of his contributions towards the effective introduction of technology into farm administration and support systems.

It was presented by AMS board chairman Andrew Starkey.

Individual winners

Small Farms: Quality

Charlie Sultana (NSW) 22kg reject kernel per ha.

Large Farms: Quality

Moore Park Enterprises, Chivers Family (Qld) 24kg Reject Kernel per ha.

Small Farms: Production

T and L Kempnich (NSW) 1384kg saleable kernel per ha.

(Small Grower of the Year)

Large Farms: Production

G and J James (NSW) 1604 kg saleable kernel per ha.

(Large Grower of the Year)

Topics:  australian macadamia society macadamia